Elf4Health Week 1!

So I signed up for Elf for Health, and then I promptly forgot about it. I mean, I only signed up about four days before it started, but then I didn’t think about it again until I got one email from Elle and Lindsay, and another from Missy Ament, my elf!

I quickly realized that if I was going to really commit, I was going to have to make a game plan to complete all of these challenges.

1453223_10152051623226585_651852555_n

Obviously, some of these were easier for me than others – what I noticed right away though, was that my elf and I had different strengths, and were able to help each other out. I’ve been vegetarian all my life, and was able to share my experiences for Meatless Monday! In return, she’s really been keeping me on track this week, and I’m so incredibly glad she’s been so supportive! I doubt I would have remembered to track my water intake yesterday, or reach out to an old friend the day before, without her!

With her keeping me accountable, though, I feel like I’ve made a pretty solid dent in these challenges – I unsubscribed from a TON of things Tuesday, called an old friend on the phone on Thursday, and drank a whole lot of water yesterday. Then to treat myself, I bought myself the Microsoft Surface online in the Black Friday sales! It’s definitely been a good week so far, and a lot of that is because I’ve been able to depend on my elf!

Another really cool part of this whole endeavor is the Facebook group. Usually, Facebook groups get kind of annoying, and you unsubscribe from them right away. This group is different though, because of all of the posts are so positive and empowering. I’ve been pretty silent on the group this week, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t noticed how hard these ladies (and men? I haven’t noticed any, but I suppose there might be some) are working! Everyday, I wake up and see pictures of meals and workouts and pride, and it’s really pretty inspiring. I guess I love knowing that there are so many fantastic women out there who are working to stay healthy, and workout, and doing all of the things that I try to do on a daily basis.

This Elf for Health thing has given me so much more than I expected so far, and I can’t wait to get to know my elf better, and tackle the rest of these challenges during the month of December!

Leave a Reply

