Take 2

So I re-read yesterday’s post, and I realized that I didn’t actually get to the point I was trying to make at all. So, forget all that nonsense about mimicry. Or don’t forget it, but put it aside. And focus on the memoirs I read.

So I read three: “Bossypants” by Tina Fey, “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me” by Mindy Kaling, and “I Feel Bad About My Neck” by Nora Ephron.

Memoirs, all three written by and about the lives of women I admire, and as I read them I started wondering what details would make it into my own memoir. What in my life thus far has been worth immortalizing/publishing? As with all things, I settled my butt into a swing as I tried to puzzle my way to the answer (there will be a chapter on swings – you’ve pretty much already read it).

I’ll probably have a chapter about library fines and other ordeals associated with book borrowing and lending (dog -ears, failure to return, etc). I’ll certainly have a chapter on sisterhood, and the many women I’ve had the opportunity to be close to in my life. Probably a chapter about beauty standards and my own mother (whom I always yearned to look like). Perhaps these last two could be combined? I’ll certainly be talking about the first time I heard about sex, because that was pretty hilarious (and super innocent, for all the dirty minded folks – I was five).

I have some pretty good chapters there, I think. Maybe a chapter on my hatred for being interrupted in the middle of a book? Maybe that’s just a sentence. I don’t know yet. The point is, there is clearly some fodder for entertainment in there. A story about my inability to figure out if someone’s hitting on me? Perhaps that can tie into my (many) stories about being a terrifyingly bad flirt.

But I want more. I want to someday write a hilarious and thoughtful memoir, chock full of interesting anecdotes and witty speculations regarding The Meaning of Life. And I want to be able to look back on my own life and chuckle, and be glad I did what I did. That’s the way I want to measure my own life – at the very end, I want a memoir that is interesting to me.

 

Leave a Reply

